to love at all…

“[…] is to be vulnerable. Love anything and your heart will be wrung and possibly broken. If you want to make sure of keeping it intact you must give it to no one, not even an animal. Wrap it carefully round with hobbies and little luxuries; avoid all entanglements. Lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your selfishness. But in that casket, safe, dark, motionless, airless, it will change. It will not be broken; it will become unbreakable, impenetrable, irredeemable. To love is to be vulnerable.”

― C.S. Lewis

Giant's Bleeding Heart, Photo: Abby Kroken

Giant’s Bleeding Heart, Photo: Abby Kroken

3 thoughts on “to love at all…

  1. Reblogged this on Travelling Trolls and commented:
    Just read this quote again posted by Hannah and I can’t help but realize how true it is. I arrived in Krakow this morning and even though I have been excited for 10 months and even though I adore it here, I feel that hallow yet consuming hole of heartache creeping in.
    It’s so much easier to move on when something is terrible.
    It is much harder when life is simply directing you somewhere new even though nothing was wrong with the old picture. All the goodbyes are finally sinking in and all that I have “left behind” just plain hurts. I know it is self inflicted, but I also didn’t know I would love everything that has happened in the last few months as much as I would either. For that I am grateful. But by deciding to open up and truly love it, my heart has been “wrung and possibly broken.”
    Luckily, the reason I am leaving is not to leave it all behind, but rather to make it my whole reality. I only plan to go to school to further my education to continue doing the work I have been. In that sense, I guess it’s more like a long distance relationship – maybe it hurts, but that vulnerable place is worth it, for in the end the reunion will be that much more brilliant.

Leave a Reply

